" data-cycle-title="Home Page Slide 1" />


2017-2018 Royal Court

The 65th Junior Orange Bowl Festival got off to a running start with the 2013 Annual Junior Orange Bowl Cross Country Meet. Over 70 Middle School and High School Cross Country teams competed in the two day event at Larry & Penny Thompson Park.

SoleRUNNERS, Nike, and Nesquik joined more than 1,500 runners to make the 2013 Junior Orange Bowl Event one of the best Cross Country meets in the State of Florida. The action got started on Thursday with four Middle School races as Ammons Middle School took home both the girls and boys Varsity Team Championships. Rahyah Andressohn of Richmond Heights MS won the girls varsity race with a time of 13:34.61 and Guillermo Rojas of Ammons MS finished first in the boys race with a time of 12:13.77.

Friday saw JV and Varsity High School teams compete in six races. The Varsity field was split up into an open division and invitational division. John A. Ferguson’s “B-Team” took home the Girls Varsity Open Division Championship and American High School won on the boys side. Daesha Rodgers of Miami Central (20:17.76) and Tristan Enriquez of American High School (17:33.82) won the Girls and Boys Individual Open Races, respectively.

The Ferguson High School Varsity Girls team continued their dominance in the Invitational Race, as the “A-Team” took home the team championship. Miami Sunset High School won the Boys Team Invitational Division. The individual champions were Katrina Santiago of Ferguson High School (19:05.46) and Nick Diaz of Miami Sunset High School (16:25.46).

For more race information and complete results, visit www.flrunners.com.

Thursday’s Middle School race results:

MS Girls JV Award Winners:
Junior Varsity Individual Champion:
 Brittany Tyre, Keys Gate Charter (15:24.06)
Junior Varsity Team Champions: Ammons MS – 46 points
Junior Varsity Team Runner-up: Keys Gate Charter – 62 points
Junior Varsity Team Third place: Palmetto MS – 62 points

MS Boys JV Award Winners:
Junior Varsity Individual Champion:
 Anton Hall, South Dade MS (13:34.61)
Junior Varsity Team Champions: Jorge Mas Canosa MS – 76 points
Junior Varsity Team Runner-up: Ammons MS – 87 points
Junior Varsity Team Third place: Carver MS – 122 points

MS Girls Varsity Award Winners:
Varsity Individual Champion:
 Rahyah Andressohn, Richmond Heights MS (13:26.17)
Varsity Team Champions: Ammons MS – 40 points
Varsity Team Runner-up: Devon Aire K8 – 66 points
Varsity Team Third place: Carver MS – 94 points

MS Boys Varsity Award Winners:
Varsity Individual Champion:
 Guillermo Rojas, Ammons MS (12:13.77)
Varsity Team Champions: Ammons MS – 52 points
Varsity Team Runner-up: South Dade MS – 89 points
Varsity Team Third place: Campbell Drive MS – 94 points

Friday’s High School race results:

HS Girls JV Award Winners:
Junior Varsity Individual Champion:
 Claudia Blandino, John A. Ferguson HS (24:24.03)
Junior Varsity Team Champions: John A. Ferguson HS – 18 points
Junior Varsity Team Runner-up: Coral Reef HS – 43 points

HS Boys JV Award Winners:
Junior Varsity Individual Champion:
 Alex Gonzalez, Christopher Columbus HS (18:38.32)
Junior Varsity Team Champions: Christopher Columbus HS – 15 points
Junior Varsity Team Runner-up: John A. Ferguson HS – 48 points

HS Girls Open Varsity Award Winners:
Open Varsity Individual Champion:
 Daesha Rogers, Miami Jackson HS (20:17.76)
Open Varsity Team Champions: John A. Ferguson HS “B-team” – 63 points
Open Varsity Team Runner-up: Miami Central HS – 65 points
Open Varsity Team Third place: Gulliver Prep – 115 points

HS Boys Open Varsity Award Winners:
Varsity Individual Champion: Tristan Enriquez, American HS (17:33.82)
Open Varsity Team Champions: American HS – 78 points
Open Varsity Team Runner-up: Homestead HS – 94 points
Open Varsity Team Third place: Coral Gables HS – 149 points

HS Girls Invitational Varsity Award Winners:
Invitational Varsity Individual Champion:
 Katrina Santiago, John A. Ferguson HS (19:05.46)
Invitational Varsity Team Champions: John A. Ferguson HS – 38 points
Invitational Varsity Team Runner-up: Lourdes Academy – 49 points
Invitational Varsity Team Third place: Westminster Christian – 81 points

HS Boys Invitational Varsity Award Winners:
Varsity Individual Champion: Nick Diaz, Miami Sunset HS (16:25.46)
Invitational Varsity Team Champions: Miami Sunset HS HS – 32 points
Invitational Varsity Team Runner-up: Christopher Columbus HS – 62 points
Invitational Varsity Team Third place: John A. Ferguson HS – 77 points

  • Posted in Cross Country
  • Comments Off on Junior Orange Bowl Cross Country

Comments are closed.